Chair Thompson Announces Gun Violence Prevention Task Force Leadership for 118th Congress

Press Release

Posted: January 12, 2023

Washington – Today, Chair of the House Gun Violence Prevention Task Force Rep. Mike Thompson (CA-04) released the following statement announcing the leadership of the Gun Violence Prevention Task Force for the 118th Congress.

“Gun violence is an epidemic unique to the United States. As the elected leaders of our constituents, it falls on us to advocate for policies that will help save lives, protect our communities, and make gun violence a thing of the past,” said Thompson. “This leadership slate of the Gun Violence Prevention Task Force for the 118th Congress brings together a diverse and historic group of leaders from across the country to advocate for gun violence prevention policy.

“These leaders each provide a unique perspective on gun violence and have been impacted by this violence in one way or another. I look forward to working with the entire task force to advance policies that will help save lives and end the scourge of gun violence.”

The Executive Committee of the Gun Violence Prevention Task Force is:

  • Chair Mike Thompson
  • Chief Whip Madeleine Dean (PA-04)
  • Deputy Whip Jahana Hayes (CT-05)
  • Deputy Whip Marc A. Veasey (TX-33)
  • Vice Chair Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18)
  • Vice Chair Jason Crow (CO-06)
  • Vice Chair Lucy McBath (GA-07)
  • Vice Chair Grace F. Napolitano (CA-31)
  • Vice Chair David N. Cicilline (RI-01)
  • Vice Chair Robert C. “Bobby” Scott (VA-03)
  • Vice Chair Matt Cartwright (PA-08)
  • Vice Chair Joe Neguse (CO-02)
  • Vice Chair Robin L. Kelly (IL-02)
  • Vice Chair Norma Torres (CA-35)*
  • Vice Chair Pat Ryan (NY-19)*
  • Vice Chair Mike Quigley (IL-05)*
  • Vice Chair Jeff Jackson (NC-14)*
  • Vice Chair Dan Goldman (NY-10)*
  • Vice Chair Jared Moskowitz (FL-23)*
  • Vice Chair Maxwell Frost (FL-10)*

*New additions to the Executive Committee

The House Gun Violence Prevention Task Force is a bipartisan group of lawmakers working to find common-sense solutions to reduce gun violence in the United States. The Task Force was formed in the aftermath of the mass shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School and has been instrumental in passing a number of gun violence prevention measures. The Task Force numbered over 180 members of Congress in the 117th Congress. The Gun Violence Prevention Task Force played a leadership role in securing the most significant gun violence prevention legislation in 30 years with the passage of the Bipartisan Safer Communities Act, higher funding to run the background checks program and research gun violence, and programs to break the cycle of violence.