Rep. Mike Thompson to Seek Reelection to Represent Fifth Congressional District Humbled at widespread support from across district

Rep. Mike Thompson to Seek Reelection to Represent Fifth Congressional District Humbled at widespread support from across district

Press Release

(NAPA, CA) – U.S. Rep. Mike Thompson announced that he has filed to run for reelection in the Fifth Congressional District, which includes all of Napa County and parts of Lake, Sonoma, Solano and Contra Costa Counties.   

“I am proud to announce that I am a candidate for reelection to again represent our Congressional District in Congress. It is my highest honor to represent the place where I was born, grew up, raised my children, and still live today. I am humbled to have the support of supervisors, mayors, sheriffs, business leaders, working men and women, veterans, and community advocates. Continuing to forge these strong relationships with community members is an invaluable part of serving our community.

“As a public servant, I have always been focused on improving the lives of people in our community and ensuring everyone has opportunities to get ahead. Together with our local leaders, we have been able to achieve many successes -- bringing back millions of dollars in Federal funding to help our fire recovery process, passing bipartisan legislation to help prevent gun violence, and fighting to ensure everyone has access to quality, affordable health care. I am also working to bring good jobs with living wages to our district. Protecting Medicare and Social Security so our seniors can retire with dignity will always be a priority. My district offices have also helped hundreds of constituents navigate Federal agencies, including securing millions of dollars in payments and benefits they were owed from the government.

“Work still remains and I am honored to have another chance to run to represent our district and continue our fight to help our community get ahead. This means working to invest in our infrastructure so it reflects the needs of the 21st Century and fighting to pass comprehensive immigration reform and protect our Dreamers. It also means continuing to honor our promises to our nation’s veterans and their families. Finally, we must continue fighting to tackle climate change and ensure we have a planet to pass on to the generations that follow us.

“Together, we can tackle the challenges facing our nation and continue to find real solutions to help our community get ahead. We can continue making our district the best place to live, work, raise a family, start a business and retire with dignity. I humbly ask for your vote in the upcoming election.”

A list of those endorsing Rep. Thompson’s reelection campaign includes:

California Senator Bill Dodd
California Senator Mike McGuire
California Assemblymember Cecilia Aguiar-Curry
California Assemblymember Jim Wood

David Livingston, Contra Costa County Sheriff
Brian Martin, Lake County Sheriff
John Robertson, Napa County Sheriff
Thomas Ferrera, Solano County Sheriff
Mark Essick, Sonoma County Sheriff

Diana Becton, Contra Costa District Attorney
Susan Krones, Lake County District Attorney
Allison Haley, Napa County District Attorney
Krishna Abrams, Solano County District Attorney
Jill Ravitch, Sonoma County District Attorney

Lynn Mackey, Contra Costa Superintendent of Schools
Brock Falkenberg, Lake County Superintendent of Schools
Barbara Nemko, Napa County Superintendent of Schools
Lisette Estrella-Henderson, Solano County Superintendent of Schools
Steve Herrington, Sonoma County Superintendent of Schools

John Gioia, Contra Costa County Supervisor
Federal Glover, Contra Costa County Supervisor
Rob Brown, Lake County Supervisor
Moke Simon, Lake County Supervisor
Tina Scott, Lake County Supervisor
Diane Dillon, Napa County Supervisor
Alfredo Pedroza, Napa County Supervisor
Ryan Gregory, Napa County Supervisor
Belia Ramos, Napa County Supervisor
Brad Wagenknecht, Napa County Supervisor
Erin Hannigan, Solano County Supervisor
Jim Spering, Solano County Supervisor
James Gore, Sonoma County Supervisor
Susan Gorin, Sonoma County Supervisor
Lynda Hopkins, Sonoma County Supervisor
David Rabbitt, Sonoma County Supervisor
Shirlee Zane, Sonoma County Supervisor

Rob Schroder, Mayor, City of Martinez
Lara Delaney, Councilmember, City of Martinez
Mark Ross, Councilmember, City of Martinez
Dan Romero, Mayor, City of Hercules
Chris Kelley, Councilmember, City of Hercules
Pete Murray, Mayor, City of Pinole
Leon Garcia, Mayor, City of American Canyon
Chris Canning, Mayor, City of Calistoga
Jill Techel, Mayor, City of Napa
John Dunbar, Mayor, Town of Yountville
Elizabeth Patterson, Mayor, City of Benicia
Bob Sampayan, Mayor, City of Vallejo
Hakeem Brown, Councilmember, City of Vallej
Pippin Dew, Councilmember, City of Vallejo
Rozzana Verder-Aliga, Councilmember, City of Vallejo
John Dell’Osso, Mayor, City of Cotati
Gina Belforte, Mayor, City of Rohnert Park
Tom Schwedhelm, Mayor, City of Santa Rosa
Amy Harrington, Mayor, City of Sonoma

Timothy Banuelos, former Councilmember and Mayor for the City of Pinole
Dean Columbo, Carquinez Fire District Chief and Teacher, Crockett
Myrna DeVera, former Councilmember and Mayor for the City of Hercules
Earl Flewellen, Business Owner, Crockett and Port Costa
Ridge Greene, Chairman, Port Costa Conservation Society
Carol Hatch, Retired District Director, Congressman George Miller
Sherry McCoy, former City Councilmember and Mayor for the City of Hercules
Marie Beery, Small Business Owner, Kelseyville
William Brunetti, Business Owner and Grapegrower, Lakeport
Kelly Cox, Former Lake County Administrative Officer
Becky Curry, Community Leader, Kelseyville
Donald Dechar, Retired, Lakeport
Madelene Lyon, Board Member, Lake County Office of Education
Doug Pattern, Retired, Lakeport
Brad Rasmussen, Chief of Police for the City of Lakeport, Lakeport
Margaret Silveira, City Manager for the City of Lakeport, Lakeport
David Weiss, Vineyard Management Firm Owner, Kelseyville
Amelia Ceja, Business Owner and Vintner, Napa
Elba Gonzales-Mares, Napa Valley Unified School District Trustee
Jeri Hansen, Napa County Planning Commissioner and Napa Fair Board Member
Johanna O’Kelley, President, Napa Democrats
Paul Bradford Onorato, Community Leader, Napa
Loraine Stewart, Community Leader, St. Helena
Janet Thompson, Nurse, St. Helena
James Cooper, CEO and President, Vallejo Chamber of Commerce
Osby Davis, Former Mayor, Vallejo
Anthony Intintoli Jr., Former Mayor, Vallejo
Jon Riley, Executive Director, Napa and Solano Counties Central Labor Council, Vallejo
Eloise Scott, Community Leader, Vallejo
A.C. Ubalde, Trustee, Vallejo City Unified School District
Anne Marie Young, Trustee, Solano Community College Trustee
Richard "Gino" Zampa, Ironworker, Vallejo
Steve Akre, Fire Chief for the Sonoma Valley Fire and Rescue Authority
Ligia Booker, Founder, La Luz Center
Maureen Cottingham, Sonoma Valley Vintners & Growers Alliance Executive Director, Sonoma
Maggie Fishman, Santa Rosa Junior College Board Trustee
Pat Sabo, Chair, Sonoma County Democratic Party 

Benicia Progressive Democrats
California Democratic Party
California School Employees Association, AFL-CIO
Contra Costa Building and Construction Trades Council
Sierra Club

This is a partial list only.