Thompson Announces 2024 Napa County Climate Crisis Champion

Press Release


Napa – In a ceremony yesterday, Rep. Mike Thompson (CA-04) recognized Napa Schools for Climate Action as Napa’s 2024 Climate Crisis Champion.

Thompson Announces 2024 Napa County Climate Crisis

“Napa Schools for Climate Action has been at the forefront of the Napa County community’s fight against climate change,” said Thompson. “Napa Schools for Climate Action was a strong supporter of California’s SR-34, which recognized that climate change disproportionately impacts young people. The group has advocated for Climate Emergency Resolutions and secured firm commitments to achieve net-zero climate pollutants by or before 2030 from the Napa Valley Unified School District, the county of Napa, the Napa Regional Conservation District, and each city and town in Napa county.

"Napa Schools for Climate Action are a shining example of the power of youth voices in combating the climate crisis, and I am honored to recognize all they have accomplished.” 

Rep. Thompson was honored to award this year’s Climate Crisis Champions across each of the five counties in the 4th District: Lake, Napa, Solano, Sonoma, and Yolo.

Champions are selected for their significant efforts to combat the ongoing climate crisis and protect the environment at home in their community. Through their advocacy, Champions are helping to build a more sustainable future for all. 

A complete list of 2024 winners include: 
    •    Clay Shannon (Lake)
    •    Napa Schools for Climate Action (Napa)
    •    Ian Anderson (Solano)
    •    Dr. Lisa Micheli (Sonoma)
    •    Maria Contreras Tebbutt (Yolo)