Thompson Announces 2024 Yolo County Climate Crisis Champion

Press Release


Napa – In a ceremony yesterday, Rep. Mike Thompson (CA-04) recognized Maria Contreras Tebbutt as Yolo County’s 2024 Climate Crisis Champion.  

Thompson Announces 2024 Yolo County Climate Crisis

“Ms. Contreras Tebbutt has made a real impact by promoting cycling as an alternative form of transportation to curb the effects of climate change on our district,” said Thompson. “Ms. Contreras Tebbutt has successfully brought together city governments, schools, community groups and neighbors to educate them on the benefits of cycling through her role as Outreach Director of the Bike Campaign, and her dedication to bringing everyone into the cycling community, especially those with disabilities and mobility limitations, is laudable.

"Ms. Contreras Tebbutt’s life-long advocacy for cycling and its environmental benefits make her an important community leader in combatting the climate crisis. I am honored to name Ms. Contreras Tebbutt a Climate Crisis Champion.”

Rep. Thompson was honored to award this year’s Climate Crisis Champions across each of the five counties in the 4th District: Lake, Napa, Solano, Sonoma, and Yolo.

Champions are selected for their significant efforts to combat the ongoing climate crisis and protect the environment at home in their community. Through their advocacy, Champions are helping to build a more sustainable future for all. 

A complete list of 2024 winners include: 
    •    Clay Shannon (Lake)
    •    Napa Schools for Climate Action (Napa)
    •    Ian Anderson (Solano)
    •    Dr. Lisa Micheli (Sonoma)
    •    Maria Contreras Tebbutt (Yolo)