Thompson Announces Overall Winner, Solano County Finalist for Fourth District's 2024 Congressional Art Competition

Press Release


Today, Rep. Mike Thompson (CA-04) announced that Taylor Webster of Napa County was chosen as California’s Fourth District winner of the 2024 Congressional Art Competition. Lilly Bertlin was named as the Solano County Finalist.

Thompson Announces Overall Winner, Solano County Finalist

Rep. Thompson with Solano County Finalist, Lilly Bertlin
“I always look forward to the Congressional Art Competition as it gives my colleagues, Capitol visitors, and me the opportunity to appreciate the incredible talents of our district’s high school artists,” said Thompson. “Congratulations to Napa County's Taylor Webster on being named as this year’s winner from California’s Fourth District and congratulations to Lilly Bertlin on being named as this year’s Solano County finalist. 

“Year after year, I am blown away by the skill and creativity of these young artists, and this year was no exception. Thank you to each of our student artists who submitted their work, to their families and teachers for providing mentorship, and to our judges for carefully evaluating the submissions. I look forward to seeing Ms. Webster's piece on display in the United States Capitol.” 

Thompson Announces Overall Winner, Solano County Finalist

The winning piece by Napa's Taylor Webster is entitled, "Forlorn," and is composed with charcoal pencil.
This year’s Congressional Art Competition judges were:
    •    Jose Martinez, Art Instructor & Mare Island Art Studios Resident Artist
    •    Tara Thompson, Executive Director of Creative Sonoma 
    •    Maggie Morgan, UC Davis Art and Theater Professor Emeriti
Each spring, Members of Congress host the Congressional Art Competition to recognize and encourage artistic talent across their districts and our nation. Since the Artistic Discovery Competition began in 1982, more than 650,000 high school students have participated.

To enter, students submit entries to their representative’s office and panels of district artists select the winning artwork. Winners are recognized both in their district and at an annual awards ceremony in Washington, D.C. The winning works are displayed for one year in the halls of the U.S. Capitol.

The complete list of artists recognized includes: 
    •    Taylor Webster, Napa County, Overall Winner
    •    Gavin DuBois, Lake County, Finalist
    •    Lilly Bertlin, Solano County, Finalist 
    •    Ziqi Zheng, Sonoma County, Finalist
    •    Luzangely Martin, Yolo County, Finalist