Thompson Announces Solano County Public Safety Heroes

Press Release


Solano County – Today, Rep. Mike Thompson (CA-04) announced Lauren Coughlan and Andrew Tomelloso as the Solano County Public Safety Heroes. Each year, Thompson honors law enforcement officers and first responders in our community who have gone above and beyond the call of duty.

Thompson Announces Solano County Public Safety Heroes

“Our first responders and law enforcement are the first line of defense for our communities and work to keep us safe. Our district is home to outstanding public safety officials who go above and beyond in their service, and I am proud to recognize them each year as Public Safety Heroes,” said Thompson. “Andrew Tomelloso’s commitment to service is evident through his work as a firefighter and paramedic in Dixon. He is working to make the Fire Department more efficient and exemplifies a true a leader. Lauren Coughlan is taking an unique approach to improving the quality of life for our communities. She supports efforts to respond to natural disasters, violent crime, and develops new training methods to support our officers. Andrew and Lauren are prime examples of a commitment to public service, and they are well-deserving of this recognition.”

Andrew Tomelloso was born in Vallejo, California and grew up in Dixon, California where he earned his high school diploma. Since then, Mr. Tomelloso has completed the National College of Technical Instruction Paramedic program, the State Fire Marshall Company Officer Program, and is a certified California Specialized Training Institute Hazmat Technician. He is currently enrolled at Columbia Southern to complete an AS/BS degree. Mr. Tomelloso began his career assisting emergency room patients, until he joined the Dixon Fire Department in February 2014 where he has since been serving as a firefighter and paramedic. Mr. Tomelloso’s calm demeanor and approachability within the Dixon Fire Department makes him a valued leader and a respected colleague. As a newly promoted captain he is playing an essential role in helping make the department stronger, more resilient, and more capable. Mr. Tomelloso is the Dixon Professional Firefighters Association (DPFA) Local 4665 Vice President, the grant committee chair, the Dixon Fire Department Public Education lead, and a Solano County Hazmat team member, as well as being the Solano County Rotary Firefighter of the Year for both the years of 2017 and 2020.

As a captain and paramedic, Mr. Tomelloso is tasked with Public Education within the Fire Department. He demonstrates incredible willingness to contribute and respond to the needs of our community in fire safety, adult and youth education programs, and CPR training. Mr. Tomelloso’s dedication to the Dixon Fire Department and our community has resulted in top caliber education deliveries that impact the lives and well being of our citizens.

Lauren Coughlan’s law enforcement career began in 1998 when she was 16 years old as a Vacaville Police Department cadet. She later served as an intern for the Department assigned to Patrol, Records, Property & Evidence, Crime Prevention and Dispatch until she was hired as a full-time dispatcher in July 2003. In 2016 she was promoted to communications supervisor of the Vacaville Police Department, where she presently serves.

Ms. Coughlan hosts yoga class at the Solano Events Center for members of the Solano County Sheriff’s Office, Solano County Probation Department, California Highway Patrol, Fairfield Police Department and Vacaville Police Department. She additionally assisted in teaching classes at the Fairfield Police Department, California Law Enforcement Telecommunications System Users Group training conference, and multiple classes at the Vacaville Police Department. Ms. Coughlan is an active member of Solano Family First Responders, a nonprofit organization supporting the first responder community and their families. She also is an assistant team leader with the Emergency Tactical Communications Team, responding with SWAT to critical incidents, and a member of the Vacaville Telecommunicator’s Emergency Response Team, responding to dispatch mutual aid requests throughout the state during wildfires and other major events. 

The full list of Public Safety Heroes for the Fourth Congressional District includes:

Daniel Eagle, Clearlake Police Department
Chrissy Valdez, Northshore Fire Protection
Nick DeGuilio, Napa County Sheriff’s Office
JC Greenburg, CAL FIRE
Lauren Coughlan, Vacaville Police Department
Andrew Tomelloso, Dixon Fire Department
Debbie Lamaison, Rohnert Park Police Department
Santa Rosa Maui Recovery Team
Ghost, Santa Rosa Police Department K9
Joe Farrow, UC Davis Police Department
Clarksburg Fire Protection District