Thompson Announces Yolo County Public Safety Heroes

Press Release


Yolo County – Today, Rep. Mike Thompson (CA-04) announced UC Davis Chief of Police Joseph Farrow and the Clarksburg Fire Protection District as the Yolo County Public Safety Heroes. Each year, Thompson honors law enforcement officers and first responders in our community who have gone above and beyond the call of duty.

Thompson Announces Yolo County Public Safety Heroes

“Our first responders and law enforcement are the first line of defense for our communities and work to keep us safe. Our district is home to outstanding public safety officials who go above and beyond in their service, and I am proud to recognize them each year as Public Safety Heroes,” said Thompson. “Chief Farrow is a leader in law enforcement and works to improve trust and communication between UCDPD and the UC Davis community. He promotes effective and modern policing while keeping our community safe. The Clarksburg Fire Protection District is a volunteer group who protects our community from wildfires, vehicle crashes, and medical emergencies. They commit their time to the well-being of others. Chief Farrow and the Clarksburg Fire Protection District are true Public Safety Heroes and I am proud to honor them with this recognition.”

Chief Farrow’s distinguished career in law enforcement began as an officer with the Pacific Grove Police Department. He followed his lifelong dream of being a California Highway Patrol (CHP) officer joining the CHP in 1980. Working his way through the ranks, Mr. Farrow became Deputy Commissioner in November 2004. He was appointed commissioner in February 2008 by Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger, becoming the first Japanese American to head the CHP, and was later re-appointed by Governor Jerry Brown. Mr. Farrow has been serving as the Chief of Police at the University of California, Davis since 2017. He has contributed to the evolution of the Police Accountability Board at UC Davis, promoting accountability, trust, and communication between the campus community and the UCDPD. Mr. Farrow is a proponent of diversifying the law enforcement workforce to ensure that UC Davis police officers are reflective of the communities they serve. He is the University of California Systemwide Coordinator, collaborating with all 10 police chiefs to effectively operate and guide contemporary policy and administer 21st century policing programs. He has earned awards for his distinguished service and leadership including the Distinguished Service Award in 2017 and the UC Davis Chancellor’s Award for Exceptional University Leadership in 2023.

The Clarksburg Fire Protection District is an all-volunteer organization that has provided fire protection to the community of Clarksburg and the surrounding area for the past 78 years. Currently, the fire protection district has 23 trained volunteers who respond to fires, medical emergencies, vehicle accidents, and public service calls. The fire district has proven its effectiveness by responding to multiple emergency calls simultaneously, up to five at one time, without calling for aid from other agencies. As the only chartered division of government in the Clarksburg township, the fire district has led numerous community events to organize discussions about the needs of the area. 90 percent of the fire district’s volunteers live in the community creating a “neighbors helping neighbors” dynamic in many of the emergency responses. The volunteer firefighters are also very active in other aspects of our community and support numerous charitable and civic organizations. As evidence of their importance to our community, in the end of 2022, extreme wind and weather events left Clarksburg without power and operational wells for days. The fire district responded by delivering water to the community for sanitation and opening the fire station as an emergency depot and warming station. Another instance of service came in recent years when a fire threatened Clarksburg. Within two minutes, firefighters were on the scene and suppressing the fire, beating the National Fire Protection Association rural response time standards by a wide margin.

The full list of Public Safety Heroes for the Fourth Congressional district includes:

Daniel Eagle, Clearlake Police Department
Chrissy Valdez, Northshore Fire Protection
Nick DeGuilio, Napa County Sheriff’s Office
JC Greenburg, CAL FIRE
Lauren Coughlan, Vacaville Police Department
Andrew Tomelloso, Dixon Fire Department
Debbie Lamaison, Rohnert Park Police Department
Santa Rosa Maui Recovery Team
Ghost, Santa Rosa Police Department K9
Joe Farrow, UC Davis Police Department
Clarksburg Fire Protection District