Thompson, Jayapal Urge Swift Action on Their Bill to Protect Access to Contraception

Press Release

Posted: July 18, 2022

Washington – Today, Rep. Mike Thompson (CA-05) and Rep. Pramila Jayapal (WA-7) issued the following statements urging swift action on their legislation protecting access to contraceptive health care nationwide.

 The Protecting Access to Contraception Act (H.R. 8318) has garnered nearly 60 cosponsors – over a quarter of the Democratic caucus – in its first week of introduction. The bill comes on the heels of Justice Clarence Thomas’ concurrence in Dobbs v. Jackson Women’s Health Organization, in which the justice urged the Supreme Court to reconsider cases guaranteeing the right to contraception and same-sex marriage.

 “Protecting access to safe, affordable, and effective methods of family planning is a right that Americans have enjoyed for decades, but it is now under threat by this extreme and partisan Republican-controlled Supreme Court,” said Thompson. “Rep. Jayapal and I are proud that our bill to protect access to contraception is receiving broad support throughout the Democratic Caucus, and we will continue pushing for our bill to be taken up for a vote by the full House of Representatives. Americans deserve to know where their representatives stand on this issue.”

 “The number of our colleagues who have joined in our effort to codify the right to contraception shows the incredible momentum we have in this fight,” said Jayapal. “We are not going back to business as usual. Democrats will keep up the fight to ensure that people have the full spectrum of reproductive care that they deserve.”

More information on the Protecting Access to Contraception Act can be found here.

Current Cosponsors: Mike Thompson, Pramila Jayapal, Dina Titus, Doris Matsui, Anna Eshoo, Terri Sewell, Zoe Lofgren, Rosa DeLauro, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Rashida Tlaib, Katie Porter, Jamie Raskin, Richard Neal, Lloyd Doggett, Linda Sanchez, John Larson, Karen Bass, Earl Blumenauer, Jim Costa, Adam Schiff, Yvette Clarke, Jared Huffman, Salud Carbajal, Sheila Jackson-Lee, Hank Johnson, Annie Kuster, Danny Davis, Grace Napolitano, Dan Kildee, Eleanor Holmes-Norton, Betty McCollum, Jimmy Gomez, Lucille Roybal-Allard, Rick Larsen, Lou Correa, Jim Cooper, John Garamendi, Vicente Gonzalez, Mary Gay Scanlon, Chellie Pingree, Julia Brownley, Elaine Luria, Paul Tonko, Dwight Evans, Gerry Connolly, Emanuel Cleaver, Haley Stevens, Kai Kahele, Andre Carson, Anthony Brown, Jerry McNerney, Frederica S. Wilson, Juan Vargas